35% of 2024 election candidates veteran from 1990

ISLAMABAD: At least 89 candidates for the National Assembly contesting the 2024 election also participated in the 1990’s general elections. At least 35 per cent of these candidates have been actively involved in electoral politics since 1990, according to Hum Investigation Team’s research. Collectively these candidates fall in the age group of over 70.

Seventeen candidates’ sons and daughters are also part of the current electoral fray, with six of them having been persistent National Assembly members.

Additionally, 30 members have served as ministers in different governments for three consecutive terms.

Fifty-three politicians from Punjab, 10 candidates from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 18 from Sindh and nine candidates from Balochistan are participating in the election for the National Assembly seats.
Nawaz Sharif, who became the prime minister three times, could not participate in the 2002 and 2018 elections.

Four former prime ministers are part of the political fray in the 2024 election. Khurshid Shah and Naveed Qamar have been permanent members of the National Assembly since 1990. Chaudhry Nisar remained a member of the National Assembly from 1990 to 2018 and then a member of the Punjab Assembly.

Nine candidates from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa including Ghulam Ahmad Bilour, Aftab Sherpao, Maulana Fazl, Pervez Khattak, Amin Khattak, Saleem Khan, Sardar Mehtab, Iftikhar Hussain, and Najmuddin Khan are contesting the election for the National Assembly seats.

Eighty-one politicians from Punjab are participating in the current election, including Sheikh Rashid, Javed Hashmi, Fakhr Imam, Ejazul Haq, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, Ghulam Sarwar, Sheikh Aftab, Ghulam Abbas, Nawaz Sharif, Shahbaz Sharif, Javed Cheema, Anwar Cheema, Shahid Nazir, Faisal Saleh Hayat, Raja Basharat, Raja Nazir Ahmad, Nadir Gondal, Chaudhry Zulfiqar, Khawaja Asif, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Ahsan Iqbal, Sheikh Rohail Asghar, Tehmina Daultana, Birjees Tahir, Faisal Saleh, Rana Shamim, Mian Ata Maneka, Asif Hashmi, Manzoor Wattoo, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Yusuf Raza Gilani, Hameed Saeed Kazmi, Javed Ali, Javed Hashmi, Mustafa Khar, Aslam Bodla, Ghulam Farid, Amjad Farooq Khosa, Zulfiqar Khosa, Rana Farooq, Saifuddin Khosa, Riyaz Pirzada, Sadiq Baloch, Liaquat Baloch, Rana Tanveer Hussain, Tariq Bashir Cheema, Sahibzada Fiaz, Mian Muhammad Azhar, Malik Haidar Thand, Niaz Jakhar, Makhdoom Shahabuddin, Nasrullah Khan.

Fifteen politicians from Sindh are participating in the election, including Khurshid Shah, Naveed Qamar, Arbab Ghulam Rahim, Muhammad Hussain, Kanwar Khalid, Aminul Haq, Aftab Shaban Mirani, Ghous Bakhsh Mehr, Yusuf Talpur, Manwar Talpur, Asif Zardari, Khalid Maqbool, Anis Ahmad, Waseem Ahmad, Qaim Ali Shah, Agha Siraj Durrani, Liaquat Jatoi, Ghous Ali Shah, and Farooq Sattar.

Eight candidates from Balochistan are participating in the election, including Mahmoud Achakzai, Fatah Hassani, Aslam Raisani, Abdul Malik, Abdul Rahman, Yar Muhammad Rind, Hai Baloch, and Jan Jamali. Nayyer Bukhari is contesting the election from Islamabad.”

Read more: JIT identifies 550 social media users defaming army, judges

You May Also Like