Tribunal upholds rejection of Imran Khan’s candidacy from NA-122

imran khan

LAHORE: The Election Appellate Tribunal of Lahore High Court (LHC) has upheld the rejection of the nomination papers of PTI founding chairman and former prime minister Imran Khan from National Assembly constituency of NA-122 in Lahore.

Disposing of the appeal against rejection of nomination papers on Wednesday, the Election Tribunal consisting of Justice Muhammad Tariq Naeem pronounced its verdict reserved earlier.

On December 30, the nomination papers of Imran Khan had been rejected from Lahore’s NA-122. The returning officer had accepted the objections of former PML-N MPA Mian Naseer to Imran’s nomination papers.

Eight people shot dead in Lakki Marwat house

The objection stated that Imran Khan’s proposer and seconder were not related to the constituency.

Earlier, the Election Tribunal in Rawalpindi had also reserved its decision after completing the hearing into the returning officer’s rejection of the nomination papers of Imran Khan from National Assembly’s NA-89 Mianwali constituency.

This is the only election appeal of the Rawalpindi Election Tribunal which was heard for three hours and 40 minutes with two short breaks.

Justice Chaudhry Abdul Aziz, judge of the Election Appellate Tribunal established in the Lahore High Court Rawalpindi Bench, heard the appeal of the PTI founding chairman.

Attack claims four lives at Lachi Toll Plaza in Kohat


PTI leader Dr Yasmin Rashid has been declared eligible to contest elections from NA-130.

LHC’s Election Tribunal overthrew the returning officer’s decision to rejected Yasmin Rashid’s nomination papers. – INP

You May Also Like