SC to hear lifetime disqualifaction case tomorrow

lifetime disqualification case

ISLAMABAD: The Supreme Court of Pakistan has formed a seven-member bench to hear the case involving lifetime disqualification of politicians under Article 62(1)(f) of the constitution of Pakistan.

The seven member bench will be headed by Chief Justice Qazi Faez Isa and comprise of Justice Mansoor Ali Shah, Justice Yahya Afridi, Justice Aminuddin, Justice Jamal Mandokhail, Justice Mohammad Ali Mazhar, and Justice Musarrat Hilali.

ECP tribunal declines appeal by PTI’s Firdous Shamim Naqvi

The Suprme Court bench will hear the lifetime disqualification case on Tuesday at 11:30 am.

PMLN supremo Nawaz Sharif and Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party leader Jahangir Tareen were disqualified from holding public office by the SC in 2017 under Artcile 62(1)(f).

In July 2017, the top court disqualified Nawaz Sharif as prime minister of the country in a suo motu case instigated by the “Panama Papers” leaks, related to alleged corruption during his previous two terms in office.

In July 2018, the apex court disqualified Tareen for being dishonest under Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution and Section 99 of Representation of People Act (ROPA).

You May Also Like