Plans to split CAA into two separate organisations by mid-Oct


KARACHI: According to a notification issued by the Ministry of Aviation a nine-member committee has been established under the ministry’s Joint Secretary Shazia Rizvi divide the Pakistan Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) into two separate organisations – the Pakistan Airport Authority and the Bureau of Air Safety Investigation.

The notification appoints Air Vice Marshal Taimoor Iqbal as the deputy chair of the committee, meanwhile, the other committee members comprised of Joint Secretary of the Ministry of Aviation, Joint Secretary of the Ministry of Finance, Deputy Director General of Regulatory CAA, President of Aircraft Accident Investigation Board, Director Finance of CAA, Director of Aviation Security, Director of APS, and Director HR of CAA.

Read: PIA flight narrowly escapes two accidents at Sialkot Airport

The nine-member committee is instructed to complete task by October 15, and is responsible to transfer the current assets and funds to the two new organisations as well as oversee the transfer of employees, records, offices, and furniture.

Additionally, the committee will have the authority to distribute equipment, vehicles, and funds. -INP

You May Also Like