Interviews for VCs of KP universities begins tomorrow

Peshawar universities VCs interview

PESHAWAR: The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has officially released the interview schedule for the selection of vice-chancellors (VCs) for 19 government universities in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

According to sources, interviews for the 190 candidates vying for these positions are set to commence from January 23 to January 27 at KP House in Islamabad.

This long-awaited announcement brings a ray of anticipation as it addresses the prolonged absence of permanent vice-chancellors in several universities within the Peshawar region.

Read also: Security threat: Islamabad schools, universities closed

The interview process is a crucial step in filling these leadership roles, ensuring the effective functioning of the academic institutions.

Sources from the education department reveal that the decision to conduct interviews for 190 candidates underscores the significance attached to the selection of competent individuals for the role of vice-chancellor.

It’s worth noting that the absence of permanent VCs in certain KP universities for a year has been a matter of concern.


Public sector universities in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa had been grappling with a significant administrative and financial crisis, with 18 universities lacking vice-chancellors and the tenure of five more set to end in March.

A brewing conflict had emerged between Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Governor Haji Ghulam Ali and the caretaker provincial government over the appointment of vice-chancellors for the universities.

Sources in the Governor’s Secretariat told HUM News English that the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa governor had sent four letters to the caretaker chief minister, urging prompt appointments to fill the vacant vice-chancellor positions.

Vice-chancellor positions are currently vacant in 18 universities across Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, including Shangla University, Agricultural University Swat, Veterinary University Swat, Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan, UET Mardan, University of Technology Nowshera, Hazara University, Science and Technology University Abbottabad, Bacha Khan University Charsadda, Khushal Khan Khattak University Karak, Science and Technology University Bannu, Lakki Marwat University, UET Peshawar, Gomal University Dera Ismail Khan, DI Khan University of Agriculture, and Swabi Women University.

You May Also Like