Dissolution of National Assembly, federal cabinet notified

National assembly

ISLAMABAD: Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs and the Cabinet Division on Thursday notified the dissolution of the National Assembly and the Federal Cabinet, respectively

“In pursuance of clause (1) of Article 58 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the President of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan has been pleased to dissolve the National Assembly with immediate effect,” a notification issued by the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs here on Thursday said.

PM Sharif sends summary to president for dissolution of NA

Meanwhile, the Cabinet Division also issued three separate notifications under which 33 Federal Ministers, 07 Ministers of State, 05 Advisers to the PM and 38 Special Assistants to the PM will cease to hold their offices, respectively, with immediate effect.

The 15th National Assembly marks the fourth instance in Pakistan’s history where a National Assembly has successfully completed its term.

In a notable departure from the scheduled term completion date of August 12, 2023, Prime Minister Mian Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif announced the dissolution three days earlier on August 9, 2023. Over its tenure, the outgoing assembly convened a total of 52 sessions, each dedicated to robust deliberations and the passage of vital legislative proposals.

You May Also Like