Mohsin Naqvi to be nominated as new PCB chairman

PCB chairman

ISLAMABAD: The caretaker government has decided to nominate Mohsin Naqvi as chairman Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) after the resignation of Zaka Ashraf.

According to sources, it has been decided to nominate caretaker Chief Minister Punjab Mohsin Naqvi as PCB chairman in place of Zaka Ashraf.

Sources said that Mohsin Naqvi will first be nominated as patron of the Board of Governors.

The 2014 constitution requires the PCB to form a board of governors comprising ten members: four out of the 16 regional representatives, four representatives of services organisations, and two members directly nominated by the PCB patron.

Zaka Ashraf last week had announced to resign as chairman and member of the Managing Committee of the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Zaka announced the decision to quit PCB at the conclusion of the fourth meeting of the Pakistan Cricket Board’s Management Committee (MC) on Friday at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore.

Zaka Ashraf announced that he had decided to tender his resignation as chairman and member of the MC to the honourable patron caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar.

Prime Minister Anwar ul Haq Kakar has accepted the resignation of Zaka Ashraf.

Read also: Pakistan hockey team fails to qualify for Paris Olympics

You May Also Like