T20 series: New Zealand beat Pakistan by 21 runs

New Zealand beat Pakistan

HAMILTON: New Zealand defeated Pakistan in the second match of the five-match T20 series and took a 2-0 lead in the series.

Chasing a target of 195 runs given by New Zealand, the Pakistani team was bowled out for 173 runs and Pakistan had to face a defeat by 21 runs.

The innings from Pakistan’s side was started by Saim Ayub and Mohammad Rizwan but Saim Ayub was out for one run in the first over while Mohammad Rizwan also proved to be a guest of 7 runs.

After two quick wickets, Fakhar Zaman and Babar Azam took the team’s score forward and Fakhar Zaman was out for 50 runs off 25 balls while Iftikhar Ahmed returned to the pavilion after scoring 4 runs, Azam Khan also got out for 2 runs while trying to hit a six.

Babar Azam scored a half-century in the second consecutive match and played an innings of 66 runs off 43 balls. Shaheen Shah Afridi also played an innings of 22 runs.

From New Zealand’s side, Adam Milne took out 4 players while Sean Seer, Ish Sodhi and Tim Southee took two wickets each.

Earlier, in the match being played in Hamilton, Pakistan’s captain Shaheen Shah Afridi won the toss and invited New Zealand to bat first.

The innings from New Zealand’s side was started by Finn Allen and Devon Conway and the Kiwi team suffered the first loss at 59 runs when Conway was caught out by Fakhar Zaman on Aamer Jamal’s ball. Captain Williamson retired hurt after scoring 26 runs while Finn Allen played a brilliant innings of 74 runs off 41 balls, his innings included 5 sixes and 7 fours.

Mitchell Santner scored 25 and Devon Conway scored 20 runs while from Pakistan’s side, Haris Rauf gave 38 runs and took out 3 players while Abbas Afridi took 2 wickets, one player each was taken out by Osama Mir and Aamer Jamal.

Pakistan has retained the same team that played the first T20 against New Zealand. The Pakistan team includes captain Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Aamer Jamal, Abbas Afridi and Haris Rauf.

On the other hand, there has been a change in the New Zealand team and Mitchell Santner has returned in place of Matt Henry.

Remember that New Zealand had defeated Pakistan by 46 runs in the first T20 match, the host team has a 1-0 lead in the series.

You May Also Like