PSL 9 players draft kicks off


LAHORE: The Pakistan Super League (PSL) 9 players draft is in progress at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore, where the six franchises are finalizing their squads for the upcoming season.

The draft consists of 16 rounds, with each team having a maximum of eight retained players and eight new picks. The draft order for the Platinum category, the highest-paid category, was determined by the reverse order of the points table of the previous season.

In the Platinum category, Multan Sultans picked England’s fast bowler David Willey as the first pick of the draft. Karachi Kings followed by choosing West Indies’ all-rounder Kieron Pollard, while Quetta Gladiators opted for West Indies’ batsman Sherfane Rutherford and Pakistan’s pacer Mohammad Amir.

Peshawar Zalmi selected Afghanistan’s spinner Noor Ahmad, while Islamabad United went for England’s batsman Jordan Cox. Lahore Qalandars, the defending champions, picked Pakistan’s opener Fakhar Zaman, who they had released earlier in the retention and trade window.

In the second round of the Platinum category, Lahore Qalandars picked South Africa’s batsman Rassie van der Dussen, while Islamabad United chose England’s all-rounder Liam Dawson. Karachi Kings picked Australia’s all-rounder Daniel Sams and Pakistan’s spinner Mohammad Nawaz.

In the Diamond category, the second-highest paid category, Multan Sultans picked England’s batsman David Malan as the first pick. The draft is still ongoing and the teams are expected to complete their rosters by the end of the day.

“Quetta Gladiators have appointed Sarfaraz Ahmed as the captain for the 9th consecutive season. Sarfaraz Ahmed has won the title for Quetta Gladiators once during his captaincy.”

“Peshawar Zalmi selected Asif Ali, while Karachi Kings picked New Zealand’s Tim Seifert and Sahibzada Farhan in the diamond category.”

The PSL 9 is the ninth edition of the premier T20 cricket league in Pakistan, which was founded in 2015 by the Pakistan Cricket Board. The league features six city-based franchise teams, namely Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi, and Quetta Gladiators.

Moin Khan takes charge as Quetta Gladiators’ Team Director for PSL Season 9

The league is scheduled to start from February 13, 2024, and will be played across four venues: Karachi, Lahore, Multan, and Rawalpindi. The final of the tournament will be held on March 19, 2024, at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. The PSL 9 promises to be a thrilling contest, as the six teams vie for the coveted trophy and the glory of being the champions of Pakistan’s premier T20 league.

You May Also Like