Objections raised against nomination papers of Imran, Maryam, Bilawal

nomination papers

LAHORE: In the ongoing scrutiny of nomination papers, objections have been formally lodged against prominent political figures, including senior vice-president of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)aryam Nawaz, Chairman Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Bilawal Bhutto and Imran Khan, a founding member of the Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI).

The scrutiny process, now in its third day, witnessed objections to the nomination papers of Maryam Nawaz and Bilawal Bhutto Zardari. Subsequently, objections were also filed against the nomination papers of Imran Khan.

Mian Naseer, a candidate from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), submitted an objection against Imran Khan’s papers in the NA-122 constituency of Lahore. Naseer contends that Imran Khan, as a convicted individual, is ineligible to contest the election, raising questions about his candidacy.

In a separate case, a citizen from Sargodha filed a petition against Maryam Nawaz, alleging the forgery of the candidate’s signature in the papers submitted for PP-80. The petitioner, pointing to Maryam Nawaz’s previous convictions, argues that her nomination papers should be rejected.

ECP constitutes Election Monitoring and Control Centre for complaints

Earlier, a citizen from Lahore’s Constituency NA-127 raised objections against Bilawal Bhutto’s nomination papers. The petition asserts that Bilawal Bhutto indicated his affiliation with PPP Parliamentarians, while distinguishing between PPP and PPP Parliamentarians as separate political entities. The petitioner emphasizes that Bilawal serves as the Chairman of PPP, whereas Asif Ali Zardari holds the position of President of People’s Party Parliamentarians.

You May Also Like