KP gears up for election with key leaders in the race

KP elections

PESHAWAR: In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 21.928 million voters on Thursday will elect representatives for 44 National Assembly and 113 provincial assembly seats from among 2,527 candidates, including Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz supremo Nawaz Sharif, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman and Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) chief Sirajul Haq.

From Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the central leaders of important political parties are contesting elections on five National Assembly constituencies. Nawaz Sharif is contesting from NA-15 Masehrah, Maulana Fazlur Rehman from NA-44 DI Khan, Sirajul Haq from NA-6 Lower Dir, Qaumi Watan Party Chairman Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao from NA-24 Charsadda and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Parliamentarians (PTIP) Chairman Pervez Khattak from NA-33.

Similarly, four former chief ministers and provincial presidents of three political parties from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa are also candidates for National Assembly and provincial assembly constituencies. ANP’s former chief minister Amir Haider Hoti is contesting from Mardan for National Assembly and provincial assembly seats, PTIP’s Vice-Chairman and former chief minister Mahmood Khan is contesting from Swat on National Assembly and provincial assembly seats, JUI’s former chief minister Akram Khan Durrani is contesting from Bannu on a provincial assembly seat and PTIP’s Chairman Pervez Khattak is contesting from Nowshera on National Assembly and provincial assembly seats.

ANP’s provincial president Aimal Wali Khan is contesting from Charsadda on a National Assembly constituency and PML-N’s provincial president Amir Muqam is contesting from Swat and Shangla and PTI’s provincial president Ali Amin Gandapur is contesting from DI Khan on National Assembly and provincial assembly seats.

Meanwhile, more than 178,000 personnel of Frontier Constabulary (FC) and police as well as other security agencies have been deployed across the province for the peaceful conduct of elections in the province.

In the province, 15,696 polling stations have been set up where 181,000 staff have been deployed. In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 4,178 polling stations have been declared highly sensitive, and 5,925 polling stations sensitive.

In the province, 713 candidates will vie for 44 National Assembly seats and 1,814 candidates for 113 provincial assembly seats. The Election Commission of Pakistan has postponed elections on one National Assembly and two provincial assembly seats due to the death of candidates.

You May Also Like