Elections 2024: In a first, 47 women candidates in KP contesting from general seats

National Assembly

Manahil Arshad

PESHAWAR: In a historic development for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP), a record 47 women have been approved as candidates to contest elections for general seats in both the Provincial and National Assembly—a first in the region’s history.

A recent mandate now requires that a minimum of 5 per cent of all party tickets for general seats must be allocated to women.

For the general seats at National Assembly level, Sobia Shahid from Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) is contesting from NA-29 and NA-31 constituencies. Farah Khan is a candidate for NA-24 for the PML-N as well.

Similarly, Mehr Sultana is contesting elections from NA-38 for the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP). Farzana Shireen acquired party ticket from the PPP for NA-39.

General elections 2024: Why are rural women more willing to vote?

The Awami National Party (ANP) likewise chose Khadija Bibi to contest elections from NA-1 constituency in Chitral.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Parliamentarian (PTI-P) issued ticket to Dr Asia Asad for NA-35 constituency in Kohat.

Shazia Bibi decided to contest elections for NA-31 Peshawar. Similarly, Dr Faiza Rasheed is vying for the seat of NA-18.

The Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) gave their party ticket to Sitara Imtiaz for NA-19 Swabi. Meanwhile, Shandana Gulzar is contesting elections from NA-30 Peshawar as an independent candidate.

For Provincial Assembly’s general seats, we have PML-N’s candidate Sobia Khan for PK-76. Shaista Khan is standing for elections from PK-46 Haripur.

Basharat Khan decided to contest election from PK-94 in Orakzai, whereas for PK-108 Tang, Janzeba Azam is a hopeful.

The PPP chose Sawera Parkash as their candidate for PK-25 constituency in Buner.

Similarly, Sajida Tabassum is standing from PK-39 Mansehra. The PK-46 constituency in Haripur has Shehnaaz Shamshir as one of the candidates.

For PK-48, Shista Raza will contest elections. Aneela Shehzad is vying for PK-56 Mardan seat.

The ANP decided to award their party tocket to Samar Haroon Bilor for the PK-83 constituency. Whereas, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI) decided on Saema Bibi as their candidate for PK-36 Mansehra and Noshera Farahim for PK-86.

Baseerat Arbab chose to contest elections from PK-42 Abbottabad, Ayesha Hameed for PK-44, and Ruqayya Bibi for PK-48.

Nazia Bibi is vying for a seat in the provincial assembly from PK-90, Sofia Bano from PK-91, and Shaneela from PK-92 Kohat.

The ANP decided Shaheen Zamir as their candidate for PK-40 Mansehra.

Shehnaz Raja chose to stand in elections from PK-42 Abbottabad. For PK-46 Haripur, Fazana Shaheen is vying for a seat. Similarly, Aram Fatima is aiming for the seat in PK-47 constituency, Robina Niyaz from PK-65, Ziarat Bibi from PK-12, Nadia Sher Khan from PK-30, and Taj Begum for PK-11 Upper Dir.

The PTI-P chose Sumi Falak for the seat of PK-76 Nowshera.

Anita Masood is contesting elections from PK-100 Bannu, and Sakina for PK-69 Khyber.

While QWP chose Rukhsana Rashid for PK-47 Haripur, the Pakistan Markazi Muslim League picked Samreen Rashid for PK-75, and Tehreek Jawanan Pakistan selected Rahma Sehr for the seat of PK-79.

Shakra Gul is aiming for the Provincial Assembly general seat from PK-79, Bushra from PK-73, Nazia Ali from PK-81 and Afshaan Afridi from PK-82.

Shumaila Tabassum chose to vie for a seat from PK-83 as an independent candidate.

You May Also Like