Four-member committee formed to advise on FBR restructuring


ISLAMABAD: The caretaker government has established a high-level committee tasked with providing specific recommendations for the restructuring of the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR).

The four-member committee comprises the FBR Chairman, Secretary of the Ministry of Finance, Secretary of the Ministry of Commerce, and Secretary of the Cabinet Division.

This committee will present its recommendations to the Federal Cabinet following the approval granted by the Special Investment Facilitation Council (SIFC).

Aligned with the SIFC’s approval, the committee will focus on the distinct recommendations for restructuring the FBR. The envisaged specialised administrative structures aim to enhance delegation and administrative accountability.

Additionally, an institutional mechanism is under consideration to create a tax policy group with the requisite expertise and analytical capabilities. This group will facilitate the rationalisation of the tax regime, emphasising fairness and equity.

A summary for the approval of the FBR’s restructuring plan is anticipated to be presented in the upcoming federal cabinet meeting. This summary will be moved after the finalisation of the recommendations by the four-member committee.

As part of the ongoing reform plan, there is a proposal to establish a dedicated Customs Board to oversee the operations of Pakistan Customs.

This move is aimed at separating Customs from the revenue collection mechanism to enhance efforts in tracking smuggling and related activities while retaining revenue collection as the core mandate of the FBR.

Further consideration is being given to the establishment of a separate Inland Revenue Board under the supervision of the Revenue Division.

Read next: Global oil prices fall over 3%

You May Also Like